Michiganders: Here Are The New Laws for Fireworks
You can't shoot them off tonight, FYI. Tomorrow night through the 5th, however, is fair game.
In the words of my Milwaukee born-and-bred sister, "You can smoke pot AND light off fireworks in Michigan? It's bedlam!"
Yes, people set off their own fireworks for pretty much ANY holiday here in the mitt. However, because of recent complaints, the state is limiting the allowed time. Don't freak out, though - it's really not that bad. Here's the deal for this weekend and next week:
YOU CAN LIGHT OFF FIREWORKS FROM JUNE 29TH THROUGH JULY 4TH UNTIL 11:45 PM.
IF JULY 5TH IS A FRIDAY OR SATURDAY, FIREWORKS ARE ALLOWED UNTIL 11:45 PM.
So, the July 5th rule applies this year. Click HERE for more information.
I've already seen some of our neighbors in say that they're going to call 911 if people break these rules. Each violation carries a $1,000 fine, with $500 of that going to the law enforcement agency responsible.