When you're a parent, you really look forward to the day when you no longer need a babysitter and you can leave your child at home alone.

See Also: Is It Illegal to Spank Your Child in Michigan?

While it can be exciting and a little scary, you first need to figure out if your child is at the right age to even stay home without adult supervision.

When Can a Child Legally Be Left Alone in Michigan?

In Michigan, the law doesn't say exactly how old a child must be to stay home alone. It's up to the parent or guardian to decide, using good judgment based on the child's maturity, safety, and overall health.

According to Child Welfare Information Gateway, only Illinois and Maryland currently have laws regarding a minimum age for leaving a child home alone.

Child Welfare Information Gateway:

There is no agreed-upon age when all children are able to stay home alone safely. Because children mature at different rates, you should not base your decision on age alone.


I was always under the assumption that you couldn't legally leave your child home alone until they were at least 12 years old. Apparently, that's just not the case.

You could have a 10-year-old child who is extremely mature and responsible enough to stay home alone, while someone else could have a 13-year-old who is far too immature and irresponsible to stay home alone.

It's up to you to decide if your child is ready to stay at home alone, not the state.

LOOK: 19 Drinks Only '90s Kids Remember

Grab that weird bendy straw you bought with your Chuck. E Cheese tokens, because we're sluprin' up these definitive flavors of the '90s.

Gallery Credit: Meg Dowdy

Rock Star Kids Then and Now

Photos of famous children of musicians. What are they doing now?

Gallery Credit: Todd Fooks

100 Things Kids Bought in the 1960s

More From Cars 108