City Officials to Arrest Trick-Or-Treaters 13 and Over [VIDEO]
Happy Halloween, unless you're a teenager in Chesapeake, Virginia. City officials are drawing a line in the sand, saying they'll have anyone trick-or-treating over the age of 12 arrested.
Get this: Teens who are arrested for the "offense" can be fined, and face up to six months of jail time. Regardless of their age, kids caught trick-or-treating after 8 pm will possibly face up to 30 days in jail. Fines range from $25 to $100.
And Chesapeake isn't the only Virginia town to crack down on candy seekers. Newport officials say anyone over 12 years old or past the seventh grade is guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor if they engage in the candy quest. Many neighboring communities have followed suit, according to KUTV.
Some cities' ordinances state that parents who accompany children are forbidden from wearing any type of mask or costume.
This is not a joke. You can read the Chesapeake city code here.