Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers was the unanimous choice to win the American League Cy Young award, getting first place votes from all 28 who had a say in determining the best pitcher in the League. There was little question that Verlander would win the award, as he had a dominant season where he led every important pitching category.
Verlander's season was special. He led the league in wins with 24 (24-5). He also led the league in E.R.A. (earned run average) at 2.40, innings pitched (251), strikeouts (250) and W.H.I.P. (walks and hits per inning pitched) at 0.920. Verlander also threw his second career no-hitter. The last time a pitcher was this dominating was 1986 when Boston's Roger Clemons went 24-4. That was also the last time a pitcher won the M.V.P. award.

Verlander was also named MLB Player Of the Year in the Players Choice Awards for 2011. The Baseball Writers Association of America will announce their choice on November 21st for Most Valuable Player. J.V. has a real good shot.