Governor Snyder Signs Helmet Law. Will You Ride Without One?
The issue has been controversial in Michigan for decades. Laws making helmets optional were vetoed twice by former Governor Granholm. As of last night, motorcycle riders in Michigan can ride without a helmet under certain provisions. Governor Rick Snyder signed the law which will allow more experienced riders to go helmet free.
Under Senate Bill 291, motocyclists can choose whether or not to wear a helmet if:
They are at least 21 years old.
Must have at least $20,000 of first party medical coverage, in case they are involved in an accident.
Must have passed a motorcycle safety course or have had their motorcycle endorsement for at least 2 years.
The law was written with input from American Bikers Aiming Toward Education (ABATE) of Michigan, a motorcycle association dedicated to improving motorcycle safety and car driver awareness of motorcycles on the road.
The new law gives the state of Michigan the strictest requirements for riding helmet-free of any state, according to ABATE.
Michigan has required motorcycle riders to wear a helmet since 1967.
A detailed description of the bill can be found at: www.legislature.mi.gov