Ready or not, you'll be switching to the new and "improved" Facebook profile.  Facebook's execs rolled out the new design, and made it optional in December, but soon you'll be forced to use it, if you haven't already.  Read more for important information on protecting your privacy. 

Among other changes, the new profile puts a row of pictures along the top - pictures in which you've been tagged.  This is what's causing the most complaints.  You may not want your niece to see you getting crazy with friends after work, or a potential employer seeing that tattoo that's usually covered.  The option to change this is buried several layers deep.

.

.

I'll show you how to fix it.  It's simply a matter of editing your privacy settings.

Choose "Account" in the upper right corner.  Click on "Privacy Settings".

Edit Your Privacy Settings

.

.

.

.

.

Now, Scroll down to the "Sharing on Facebook" section, choose "Custom" and then "Customize Settings".

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Next, scroll down to the area labeled, "Things others share" and click the "edit" button next to "Photos and videos I'm tagged in".

.

.

.

.

.

Here's where you choose who can see photos along the top of your profile.  Your choices are

  • Everyone
  • Friends of Friends
  • Friends Only
  • Customize

The last option is a great choice, because it gives you an opportunity to hide embarrassing booger pictures from your family, or others that just may not understand your unique sense of humor!

.

.


If you dislike the new profile design, you're not alone.  Check out these comments from readers of PC World:

"Get a dislike button," Tomasina McGinnity complained. "Not a new profile."

"Well, this sucks," Filipe Monteiro groused. "Why not maintain it as a voluntary choice?" Monica Baguchinsky Lunn agreed with Monteiro and added: "Everyone I know is complaining. It doesn't matter, tho. The fb gods have made a decision and all us little people don't matter."

Also, as of today, new privacy settings called "Instant Personalization" go into effect.  The new settings share data with non-Facebook websites and it is automatically set to "Enabled".  Go to Account>Privacy Settings>Applications & Websites>Instant Personalization>Edit Settings & uncheck "Enable" if you don't want to share information with other sites.  BTW, If your friends don't do this, they will be sharing information about you as well.